FireWatch Magazine is a proud sponsor of Wreaths Across America. Listen to Team FireWatch live every Thursday morning at 8:15 AM. New expanded lineup!

The 13 Folds of the American Flag

American Flag

Everything about our Nation’s Flag has a meaning lest we forget.

RED symbolizes hardiness and valor.

WHITE symbolizes purity and innocence.

BLUE represents vigilance, perseverance, and justice.

50 STARS represent our 50 states.

13 STRIPES represent the original 13 colonies.

What may be most striking of all, because of what it represents, is the meaning behind the 13 folds of the American Flag.

The folded flag is symbolic of the tri-cornered hat worn by the Patriots of the American Revolution. When folded, no red or white stripe is to be evident, leaving only the blue field with stars.* It is generally presented to the appropriate family member of a fallen service member or civilian services such as law enforcement and fire department, often accompanied by the words, “Please accept this flag as a symbol of our appreciation for your loved one’s honorable and faithful service.”**

According to the United States Flag Code, the 13 folds are symbolic passing of the 13 truths. These truths represent the same religious principles upon which our country was originally founded.

  1. The first fold of our flag is a symbol of life.
  2. The second fold signifies our belief in eternal life.
  3. The third fold is made in honor and tribute of the veteran departing our ranks and who gave a portion of his or her life for the defense of our country to attain peace throughout the world.
  4. The fourth fold exemplifies our weaker nature as citizens trusting in God; it is to Him we turn for His divine guidance.
  5. The fifth fold is a tribute to our country, for in the words of Stephen Decatur, “Our country, in dealing with other countries, may she always be right, but it is still our country, right or wrong.”
  6. The sixth fold is for where our hearts lie. It is with our heart that we pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, on Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.
  7. The seventh fold is a tribute to our armed forces, for it is through the armed forces that we protect our country and our flag against all enemies.
  8. The eighth fold is a tribute to the one who entered the valley of the shadow of death so that we might see the light of day.
  9. The ninth fold is an honor to womanhood and motherhood, for it has been through their faith, love, loyalty, and devotion that the character of men and women who have made this country great have been molded.
  10. The tenth fold is a tribute to the father, for he, too, has given his sons and daughters for the defense of our country since he or she was first-born.
  11. The eleventh fold, in the eyes of Hebrew citizens, represents the lower portion of the seal of King David and King Solomon and glorifies, in their eyes, the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.
  12. The twelfth fold, in the eyes of a Christian citizen, represents an emblem of eternity and glorifies, in their eyes, God the Father, the Son, and the Holy Ghost.
  13. The last fold, when the flag is completely folded, the stars are uppermost, reminding us of our national motto, “In God We Trust.”
American Flag

For anyone who may take issue with the religious aspects of these truths, remember those who have served and died did so, in part, to ensure and protect your religious freedoms, freedom of speech, and all other freedoms bestowed on us as American Citizens.

Land of the Free, Because of the Brave.


Social Media

Current Edition

No spam, notifications only about new editions, events & monthly top articles.  Our digital edition is FIRE!